Vital Boxing | DeGale Talks Money
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

DeGale Talks Money

At 03:30, in the early hours of Sunday morning, UK time, James DeGale will climb through the ropes at the Barclays Centre, New York, to try and unify the IBF and WBC super-middleweight belts.

Standing between DeGale and a place in the history books will be Badou Jack, a fighter who will be as equally determined to leave the ring with the two belts.

To DeGale, the fight means more than just creating a boxing legacy it means securing the financial future for his family, which is motivation enough to propel the fighter onwards.

Talking about the fight, to the media, DeGale has remarked,

'I've worked hard all my life.

'Now I've got myself in a position where I can financially secure me and my family.

'It's time to strike while the iron's hot, get in the big fights, earn my money and run.

'It's not just about the money but I'm a prize-fighter.

'I've got all the accolades now, the only thing that's missing is the millions in the bank.'

In the opposite corner though will be a fighter determined to upset DeGale’s apple-cart, Badou Jack has 20 wins, 2 draws and 1 defeat on his record, will he be, after George Groves, only the second fighter to beat DeGale?

In the early hours of Sunday morning we shall find out!


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday January 13 2017

Time: 4:46PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Flanagan Bidding to make History (Saturday January 20 2018)

Saunders to Defend Title against Murray (Saturday January 20 2018)

Taylor Set for Soto Bout in Glasgow (Friday January 19 2018)

Price to Face Povetkin in Cardiff (Thursday January 18 2018)

Wilder v Ortiz Set for 3 March (Saturday January 13 2018)

Smith v Brahmer Set for Germany (Saturday January 13 2018)

Taylor to Defend Her Title in Dublin (Saturday January 13 2018)

Bad Boy Wilder Found Guilty (Saturday January 13 2018)

Khan Set for UK Ring Return (Saturday January 13 2018)

Quigg World Title Fight A Done Deal (Tuesday January 9 2018)

Date for Frampton v Donaire Fixed (Saturday January 6 2018)

Quigg Set for World Title Fight (Wednesday January 3 2018)

Joshua v Parker Moves a BIG Step Nearer (Friday December 29 2017)

Whyte v Browne March 24? (Friday December 22 2017)

Frampton v Donaire Confirmed (Friday December 22 2017)

Saunders Retains WBO Middleweight Title (Sunday December 17 2017)

Benn Wins on Points against Peynaud (Thursday December 14 2017)

Tyson Fury Talking about AJ Fight (Wednesday December 13 2017)

Brook Back in Action in March 2018 (Monday December 11 2017)

DeGale Loses World Title to Truax (Sunday December 10 2017)

Haye v Bellew II – 5 May 2018 Confirmed (Wednesday December 6 2017)

DeGale Tips Groves to Beat Eubank Jnr (Sunday December 3 2017)

Price Gets Back to Winning Ways (Sunday December 3 2017)

Ortiz Escapes WBC Ban (Sunday December 3 2017)

Cotto's Career End in Defeat (Sunday December 3 2017)

Hearn Rejects 65-35 Purse Split Offer (Thursday November 23 2017)

Haye v Bellew Re-Match – Postponed (Tuesday November 21 2017)

Conlan World Title Bid Ends in Defeat (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton Beats Garcia on Points (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton’s Illustrious Ringside Company (Thursday November 16 2017)

DeGale and Selby Opponents Named (Wednesday November 15 2017)

Benn Makes Successful Debut on US Soil (Tuesday November 14 2017)

Taylor KO's Vazquez in 9 Rounds (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith Beats Williams on Points (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith v Williams - The Re-Match (Friday November 10 2017)

2018 Will See Joshua v Wilder (Friday November 10 2017)

Wilder Would Travel to the UK to Face AJ (Thursday November 9 2017)

McDonnell v Solis Fight Report (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder Calls Out Anthony Joshua (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder v Stiverne Weigh-In (Saturday November 4 2017)

Disappointment for Dillian Whyte? (Friday November 3 2017)

Tyson Fury v Shannon Briggs? (Friday November 3 2017)

Chisora looking for World Title Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

World Champ Taylor Set for Dec 15 Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

Whyte beats Helenius on Points (Sunday October 29 2017)

Joshua Stops Takem in Round 10 (Sunday October 29 2017)

Taylor v Sanchez Big Fight Preview (Saturday October 28 2017)

Whyte Looking to March on Towards Wilder (Saturday October 28 2017)

Yafai Looking for a Victory and the US (Saturday October 28 2017)

Joshua v Takem Weigh-In News (Friday October 27 2017)

DeGale Makes Return to Ring in the UK (Friday October 27 2017)

Wilder Yearns for Joshua Match-Up (Friday October 27 2017)

Selby Ready for Warrington Challenge (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Flanagan Next for Linares? (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Whyte Faces Tough Test v Helenius (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Joshua’s First Choice Was Whyte (Monday October 23 2017)

Catterall Claims British Title (Monday October 23 2017)

Joyce Looking to Fight Sexton Next (Sunday October 22 2017)

Kelly Impresses on Burnett Under-Card (Sunday October 22 2017)

Hearn on AJ v Wilder (Sunday October 22 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. Vital Merlin 39
9. hogeyman 31
10. eliza jhon 19

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Did the referee Stop the Joshua v Takem Fight too early?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 38%
No! 62%
Not Sure! 0%