Vital Boxing | Selby Wants Frampton Next
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Selby Wants Frampton Next

Since winning the IBF featherweight title, in May 2015, the Welsh boxer Lee Selby, has only fought twice, successfully defending his title on both occasions.

Selby’s next fight will see him take on Victor Barras, on 28th January. The fight will be taking place on the undercard of the Las Vegas promotion that sees the re-match between Carl Frampton and Leo Santa Cruz.

Selby’s inactivity has been the subject of criticism with Eddie Hearn having had his say on the subject.

Hearn is Selby’s promoter in the UK but Selby’s affairs are generally handled by the top American promoter Al Haymon.

Being interviewed by BBC Wales, Selby was asked if he had any regrets about his decision to sign up with Haymon with regards to his relative inactivity, prompting Selby to retort,

'I don't think so, no.'

'Al Haymon has got all the big fighters. I want the big fights, so that was the best move for me.

'With tough competition, you've got to rise to it, and to be the best you've got to beat the best.

'You've got Gary Russell Jr, the WBC champion, Carl Frampton, Abner Mares - and they are all advised by Al Haymon. I'm advised by Al Haymon so they are easy fights to make. '


Continuing, Selby pressed home his desire to get in the ring with Frampton, if both emerge victorious in their fights on 28th January at the MGM, with Selby remarking,

'It is a super-fight, it's a natural fight.

'That is part of the reason why I am on the card so the fans can compare us and it is a natural fight for both of us.

'Ideally I'd like it in the Millennium Stadium. I think we'll do great numbers there.

'They haven't had boxing there since Joe Calzaghe. That was a few years back but at the same time I'm happy to go to Belfast and defend my title over there.'


Hopefully, it is something that can happen this summer, now that would be a treat.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday January 13 2017

Time: 4:47PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Whyte Wins on US Debut (Sunday August 20 2017)

Frampton Looking for NEW Opponent (Friday August 18 2017)

Burns v Crolla - October 7th (Saturday August 12 2017)

Smith v Williams Venue Announced (Sunday August 6 2017)

Joshua Being Pushed Into a Corner (Friday August 4 2017)

Klitschko’s Retirement Video (Thursday August 3 2017)

Who Will Be Next for Joshua? (Thursday August 3 2017)

Will You Go PPV for the Big-Fight (Wednesday August 2 2017)

Garcia Outclasses Broner (Sunday July 30 2017)

Taylor Makes it 6 from 6 (Sunday July 30 2017)

Joshua Talks Mike Tyson (Saturday July 29 2017)

Frampton v Gutierrez Called Off (Saturday July 29 2017)

Tyson Fury Retires? (Thursday July 27 2017)

Ricky Burns v Josh Taylor? (Tuesday July 25 2017)

Linares Ordered to Face Campbell (Sunday July 23 2017)

Smith v Williams Re-Match Announced (Saturday July 22 2017)

Will Tyson Fury Fight Again? (Friday July 21 2017)

Flanagan v Verdejo Postponed (Friday July 21 2017)

Martin J Ward Makes History (Sunday July 16 2017)

Davies Jnr Loses to Syrowtka (Sunday July 16 2017)

Selby Beats Barros on Points (Sunday July 16 2017)

Haye Back in the Ring in December (Thursday July 13 2017)

Eubank Snr Courts Controversy (Thursday July 13 2017)

Pacquiao Set to Fight On (Thursday July 13 2017)

Brit Seeds Choose their Opponents (Monday July 10 2017)

More Taylor v Burns Talk (Monday July 10 2017)

Who Is Next for Ricky Burns? (Monday July 10 2017)

Taylor Wants Burns Fight Next (Monday July 10 2017)

Dubois Marches On (Sunday July 9 2017)

Skeete Retains British Title (Sunday July 9 2017)

Taylor Stops Davies in 7 Rounds (Sunday July 9 2017)

Pacquiao Requests WBO Review Fight (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Haye Retire? How Did You Vote? (Sunday July 2 2017)

Conlan Makes it 3 out of 3 (Sunday July 2 2017)

Buglioni Retains British Title (Sunday July 2 2017)

Summertime Brawl Running Order (Saturday July 1 2017)

Iron Mike Turns 51 (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins - Reactions (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins III Is On (Thursday June 29 2017)

Ward Hints at Bellew Fight (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Is Eubank Jnr the Best Super-Middleweight Out There?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 38%
No! 47%
Undecided! 15%