Vital Boxing | Haye Talks Bellew, Fury and Joshua
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Haye Talks Bellew, Fury and Joshua

March 4th is still a few weeks away but it can’t come quick enough for me.

I’ve become wrapped up in all the intrigue that surrounds the heavyweight fight between the former world heavyweight champion David Haye and the WBC cruiserweight champion Tony Bellew.

Haye, who has ambitions of becoming a heavyweight world champion again, is of the opinion that he can dispose of the threat Bellew poses quite quickly, with Haye remarking to the media,

“I don’t think my fight with Bellew is any kind of test for me. It’s a fun fight for the fans, that’s all it is. A fight doesn’t have to be a test to be fun. Even if I have my worst night ever and he has his best. I’ll still knock him out.

“But that doesn’t mean I’m not going to prepare properly as I respect every fighter who climbs through the ropes.”


There also seems to be a mutual dislike between the two and Haye, talking about the current WBC cruiserweight champion, had this to say,

“Bellew won the WBC title but he did have a lot more help to the top than I did.

“I had to fight in final eliminators, I had to go to foreign soil and fight on a Don King promotion. I had everything against me.

“Bellew had his fight at his home football club for a vacant title. He had things a lot easier.”


Or maybe he just took the opportunity that befell him.

As for the future, Haye is aiming high, remarking,

“I need five more fights to prove I’m the best before I retire.

“The #1 target is IBF world heavyweight champion Anthony Joshua.

“Next is Tyson Fury. If he makes that comeback it will either be myself or Joshua in the opposite corner – there’s two big fights to be going on with.”


It’ll certainly be interesting to see if Tyson Fury, after two fights with Haye were postponed due to injury, would ever entertain the idea of making it third time lucky.

As for Hayes objectives, let’s see if he can get past Bellew first shall we!


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday January 22 2017

Time: 2:14PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Whyte Wins on US Debut (Sunday August 20 2017)

Frampton Looking for NEW Opponent (Friday August 18 2017)

Burns v Crolla - October 7th (Saturday August 12 2017)

Smith v Williams Venue Announced (Sunday August 6 2017)

Joshua Being Pushed Into a Corner (Friday August 4 2017)

Klitschko’s Retirement Video (Thursday August 3 2017)

Who Will Be Next for Joshua? (Thursday August 3 2017)

Will You Go PPV for the Big-Fight (Wednesday August 2 2017)

Garcia Outclasses Broner (Sunday July 30 2017)

Taylor Makes it 6 from 6 (Sunday July 30 2017)

Joshua Talks Mike Tyson (Saturday July 29 2017)

Frampton v Gutierrez Called Off (Saturday July 29 2017)

Tyson Fury Retires? (Thursday July 27 2017)

Ricky Burns v Josh Taylor? (Tuesday July 25 2017)

Linares Ordered to Face Campbell (Sunday July 23 2017)

Smith v Williams Re-Match Announced (Saturday July 22 2017)

Will Tyson Fury Fight Again? (Friday July 21 2017)

Flanagan v Verdejo Postponed (Friday July 21 2017)

Martin J Ward Makes History (Sunday July 16 2017)

Davies Jnr Loses to Syrowtka (Sunday July 16 2017)

Selby Beats Barros on Points (Sunday July 16 2017)

Haye Back in the Ring in December (Thursday July 13 2017)

Eubank Snr Courts Controversy (Thursday July 13 2017)

Pacquiao Set to Fight On (Thursday July 13 2017)

Brit Seeds Choose their Opponents (Monday July 10 2017)

More Taylor v Burns Talk (Monday July 10 2017)

Who Is Next for Ricky Burns? (Monday July 10 2017)

Taylor Wants Burns Fight Next (Monday July 10 2017)

Dubois Marches On (Sunday July 9 2017)

Skeete Retains British Title (Sunday July 9 2017)

Taylor Stops Davies in 7 Rounds (Sunday July 9 2017)

Pacquiao Requests WBO Review Fight (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Haye Retire? How Did You Vote? (Sunday July 2 2017)

Conlan Makes it 3 out of 3 (Sunday July 2 2017)

Buglioni Retains British Title (Sunday July 2 2017)

Summertime Brawl Running Order (Saturday July 1 2017)

Iron Mike Turns 51 (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins - Reactions (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins III Is On (Thursday June 29 2017)

Ward Hints at Bellew Fight (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Is Eubank Jnr the Best Super-Middleweight Out There?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 38%
No! 47%
Undecided! 15%