Vital Boxing | Is It Khan v Pacquiao Then?
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Is It Khan v Pacquiao Then?

After coming back to become a world title holder again, this time the WBO world welterweight title holder, Manny Pacquiao took the unusual step of asking his Twitter followers who he should defend his title against.

Pacquiao selected four possible opponents:

• Amir Khan (UK)

• Kell Brook (UK)

• Jeff Horn (Australia)

and

• Terence Crawford (USA)

His defence of this WBO title is set to be held in the United Arab Emirates and with the poll having closed, it is Amir Khan who Pacquiao’s Twitter followers have voted for as his next opponent with the Bolton fighter getting 48% of the vote.

Despite retiring in April 2015, Pacquiao returned to win the WBO title in November, beating Jesse Vargas.

On hearing that the vote had nominated Amir Khan, Pacquiao remarked,

'See you in UAE for my next fight.”

Now whether Khan is up for the fight remains to be seen, the Bolton fighter may have his own agenda.

However, it is worth recalling that back in 2015 he was being lined up to fight Pacquiao but the six-weight world champion didn’t want to face him.

Could the fight now be about to be made?


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday February 14 2017

Time: 1:08PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Frampton Looking for NEW Opponent (Friday August 18 2017)

Burns v Crolla - October 7th (Saturday August 12 2017)

Smith v Williams Venue Announced (Sunday August 6 2017)

Joshua Being Pushed Into a Corner (Friday August 4 2017)

Klitschko’s Retirement Video (Thursday August 3 2017)

Who Will Be Next for Joshua? (Thursday August 3 2017)

Will You Go PPV for the Big-Fight (Wednesday August 2 2017)

Garcia Outclasses Broner (Sunday July 30 2017)

Taylor Makes it 6 from 6 (Sunday July 30 2017)

Joshua Talks Mike Tyson (Saturday July 29 2017)

Frampton v Gutierrez Called Off (Saturday July 29 2017)

Tyson Fury Retires? (Thursday July 27 2017)

Ricky Burns v Josh Taylor? (Tuesday July 25 2017)

Linares Ordered to Face Campbell (Sunday July 23 2017)

Smith v Williams Re-Match Announced (Saturday July 22 2017)

Will Tyson Fury Fight Again? (Friday July 21 2017)

Flanagan v Verdejo Postponed (Friday July 21 2017)

Martin J Ward Makes History (Sunday July 16 2017)

Davies Jnr Loses to Syrowtka (Sunday July 16 2017)

Selby Beats Barros on Points (Sunday July 16 2017)

Haye Back in the Ring in December (Thursday July 13 2017)

Eubank Snr Courts Controversy (Thursday July 13 2017)

Pacquiao Set to Fight On (Thursday July 13 2017)

Brit Seeds Choose their Opponents (Monday July 10 2017)

More Taylor v Burns Talk (Monday July 10 2017)

Who Is Next for Ricky Burns? (Monday July 10 2017)

Taylor Wants Burns Fight Next (Monday July 10 2017)

Dubois Marches On (Sunday July 9 2017)

Skeete Retains British Title (Sunday July 9 2017)

Taylor Stops Davies in 7 Rounds (Sunday July 9 2017)

Pacquiao Requests WBO Review Fight (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Haye Retire? How Did You Vote? (Sunday July 2 2017)

Conlan Makes it 3 out of 3 (Sunday July 2 2017)

Buglioni Retains British Title (Sunday July 2 2017)

Summertime Brawl Running Order (Saturday July 1 2017)

Iron Mike Turns 51 (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins - Reactions (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins III Is On (Thursday June 29 2017)

Ward Hints at Bellew Fight (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

The Circus Will Take Place (Thursday June 15 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Is Eubank Jnr the Best Super-Middleweight Out There?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 38%
No! 47%
Undecided! 15%