Vital Boxing | Heavyweight Unification Is the Name of the Game
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Heavyweight Unification Is the Name of the Game

As the huge fight at Wembley Stadium, between Anthony Joshua and Wladimir Klitschko draws nearer, the current IBF world heavyweight champion has spoken candidly about what it takes to be recognised as the leading heavyweight on the planet.

With the fight against on April 29th, offering Joshua the chance to add the vacant WBA heavyweight title to the IBF one he already possesses, Joshua would only need to win the WBC and WBO crowns to unify the division, something he suggests would give him that respect as the best heavyweight on the planet.

Joshua has already hinted that if he beats the 40-year-old veteran Ukrainian he could become a legend overnight, but Joshua also craves those other two belts, held by Deontay Wilder and Joseph Parker.

Talking to the media Joshua has described that desire to be the best, remarking,

'You have to unify the division to gain that respect.

'This [beating Klitschko] would definitely put you on a pedestal for sure. But I would never claim to be the universal heavyweight champion because I've never unified the division.

'That's a status in itself, so in my opinion I need to do a bit more work before I can claim that.'


Before adding,

'I can definitely push him aside and create a pathway for me to reign for a long time.”

Joshua has 18 knockouts from his 18 professional fights, are we witnessing a legend in the making?


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday February 17 2017

Time: 1:02PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Brook v Spence Press Conference (Thursday March 23 2017)

Golovkin Wants Saunders Next (Monday March 20 2017)

Lee Wins on Ring Comeback. (Sunday March 19 2017)

Golovkin v Jacobs – Weigh-In (Saturday March 18 2017)

Conlan Wins on Professional Debut (Saturday March 18 2017)

Crolla Primed for His Big Night (Friday March 17 2017)

Bellew Requires Hand Surgery (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Burns Takes the Dangerous Option (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Barnes Wins on Points (Saturday March 11 2017)

Conlan Wins by Split Decision (Saturday March 11 2017)

Cleverly v Jack in the Pipeline? (Friday March 10 2017)

A 16 Boxer Shoot-Out (Friday March 10 2017)

Haye Willing to Pay Fine (Thursday March 9 2017)

Parker v Fury Date Confirmed (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Haye Set to Fight On (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Is Bellew Set to Call it a Day? (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Taylor Back in the Ring on March 25th (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Pacquiao v Khan ISN’T Happening (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Haye on Losing to Bellew (Sunday March 5 2017)

Bellew on Defeating Haye (Sunday March 5 2017)

Bellew Stops Haye in Round 11 (Sunday March 5 2017)

Selby Set to Become a Free Agent (Saturday March 4 2017)

Russian Heavyweight Povetkin Banned (Saturday March 4 2017)

O2 Arena, London – Line-Up (Friday March 3 2017)

Haye v Bellew – Weigh-In (Friday March 3 2017)

Messing With Our Heads (Thursday March 2 2017)

Fury Spotted (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Haye v Bellew – Referee (Wednesday March 1 2017)

BBBoC - Haye Ban Threat (Wednesday March 1 2017)

WBC Want Wilder v Stiverne II (Monday February 27 2017)

Bellew Lets Rip at Haye (Monday February 27 2017)

McDonnell v Vargas – What They Said (Sunday February 26 2017)

Pacquiao v Khan IS ON (Sunday February 26 2017)

Hughie Fury Signs Joseph Parker Contract (Saturday February 25 2017)

Wilder v Washington – The Weigh-In (Saturday February 25 2017)

Hull Ice Arena – Running Order (Saturday February 25 2017)

Behave Is the Buzz Word (Friday February 24 2017)

Haye Suggests a Fence Might Keep the Peace (Thursday February 23 2017)

Bellew’s Threat to Haye (Tuesday February 21 2017)

Scott Quigg Teams up with Freddie Roach (Monday February 20 2017)

Wladimir Praise for Anthony Joshua (Monday February 20 2017)

Broner Gets Controversial Decision (Sunday February 19 2017)

Get Well Soon Michael Watson (Sunday February 19 2017)

Joshua Given Green Light for US (Friday February 17 2017)

Selby Back in the Ring on March 4th (Thursday February 16 2017)

Frampton Santa Cruz III in Doubt (Thursday February 16 2017)

Spence Jnr Confident of Beating Brook (Wednesday February 15 2017)

Brook to Take on Spence Jnr in Sheffield (Tuesday February 14 2017)

Is It Khan v Pacquiao Then? (Tuesday February 14 2017)

Is Haye Taking Bellew Too Lightly? (Monday February 13 2017)

Lee Set for Ring Return (Saturday February 11 2017)

It Could Be Sheffield for Brook v Spence (Saturday February 11 2017)

Joshua Ready to Enter His Training Camp (Saturday February 11 2017)

Hearn Talks Joshua Tactics (Saturday February 11 2017)

Klitschko Faces His Toughest Challenge (Saturday February 11 2017)

Conlan Fight Rescheduled (Saturday February 11 2017)

Olympian Kelly Turns Professional (Wednesday February 8 2017)

Frampton Set for Belfast Fight Next. (Tuesday February 7 2017)

Lewis Tips Joshua to Beat Klitschko (Monday February 6 2017)

Eubank Jnr Baits DeGale and Saunders (Monday February 6 2017)

ITV – How Was It For You? (Sunday February 5 2017)

London Olympia Under-Card Round-Up (Sunday February 5 2017)

Price’s Dream in Ruins (Sunday February 5 2017)

Eubank Jnr Claims IBO World Title (Sunday February 5 2017)

Price v Hammer – Saturday Night (Friday February 3 2017)

The ITV Box Office Gamble (Friday February 3 2017)

Frampton Vows to come back Stronger (Tuesday January 31 2017)

Team McGuigan on Frampton Loss (Sunday January 29 2017)

Frampton Gracious in Defeat (Sunday January 29 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 620
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 123
5. Fulham Badger 103
6. Kid Glove 73
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 17
10. rorzzman 15

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Crolla v Linares?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Crolla to Win! 0%
Linares to Win! 100%
Too Close to Call! 0%