Vital Boxing | McDonnell v Vargas – What They Said
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

McDonnell v Vargas – What They Said

After valiantly failing in his quest to win the WBC super-bantamweight crown last night, losing a decision to the Mexican Rey Vargas, the fighter had this to say to the media.

'I will learn, I know where I went wrong, I am disappointed, but I will work so hard.

'I had him winning by a couple of rounds, probably three rounds in my opinion. Everyone is in with a puncher's chance - if I can improve my speed and power I will land and I can beat that kid.

'If we do have a rematch, I know how to beat him in the future.'

'I gave it everything and I hope everyone enjoyed it. I feel like I let everyone down.

'I just fell short at the end. I felt all right in there, I was a bit too eager and I couldn't get close enough. I will come again - I have only had 18 fights and I want to show I belong at this level.

'I have no doubt I will be a world champion.'


Gavin has time to come again and could, on another night, realise his dream.

As for his promoter, Eddie Hearn, he had this to say,

'I think Gavin started too slowly and he was always chasing it. Vargas was very good - he had excellent feet and confidence.

'To put in a performance like that, Gavin should be very proud but ultimately he was not good enough. I think Rey Vargas will go on to do a lot in the sport.

'Gavin has improved so much but he was not letting his hands go and that was the frustrating thing. It was a little bit of inexperience. If he did what he did in the ninth from the fifth round onwards then he would've had a chance.'


He might have done but he came up against, like Eddie says, a fighter that will go a long way in this sport.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday February 26 2017

Time: 12:02PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Tyson Fury Talking about AJ Fight (Wednesday December 13 2017)

Brook Back in Action in March 2018 (Monday December 11 2017)

DeGale Loses World Title to Truax (Sunday December 10 2017)

Haye v Bellew II – 5 May 2018 Confirmed (Wednesday December 6 2017)

DeGale Tips Groves to Beat Eubank Jnr (Sunday December 3 2017)

Price Gets Back to Winning Ways (Sunday December 3 2017)

Ortiz Escapes WBC Ban (Sunday December 3 2017)

Cotto's Career End in Defeat (Sunday December 3 2017)

Hearn Rejects 65-35 Purse Split Offer (Thursday November 23 2017)

Haye v Bellew Re-Match – Postponed (Tuesday November 21 2017)

Conlan World Title Bid Ends in Defeat (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton Beats Garcia on Points (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton’s Illustrious Ringside Company (Thursday November 16 2017)

DeGale and Selby Opponents Named (Wednesday November 15 2017)

Benn Makes Successful Debut on US Soil (Tuesday November 14 2017)

Taylor KO's Vazquez in 9 Rounds (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith Beats Williams on Points (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith v Williams - The Re-Match (Friday November 10 2017)

2018 Will See Joshua v Wilder (Friday November 10 2017)

Wilder Would Travel to the UK to Face AJ (Thursday November 9 2017)

McDonnell v Solis Fight Report (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder Calls Out Anthony Joshua (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder v Stiverne Weigh-In (Saturday November 4 2017)

Disappointment for Dillian Whyte? (Friday November 3 2017)

Tyson Fury v Shannon Briggs? (Friday November 3 2017)

Chisora looking for World Title Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

World Champ Taylor Set for Dec 15 Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

Whyte beats Helenius on Points (Sunday October 29 2017)

Joshua Stops Takem in Round 10 (Sunday October 29 2017)

Taylor v Sanchez Big Fight Preview (Saturday October 28 2017)

Whyte Looking to March on Towards Wilder (Saturday October 28 2017)

Yafai Looking for a Victory and the US (Saturday October 28 2017)

Joshua v Takem Weigh-In News (Friday October 27 2017)

DeGale Makes Return to Ring in the UK (Friday October 27 2017)

Wilder Yearns for Joshua Match-Up (Friday October 27 2017)

Selby Ready for Warrington Challenge (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Flanagan Next for Linares? (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Whyte Faces Tough Test v Helenius (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Joshua’s First Choice Was Whyte (Monday October 23 2017)

Catterall Claims British Title (Monday October 23 2017)

Joyce Looking to Fight Sexton Next (Sunday October 22 2017)

Kelly Impresses on Burnett Under-Card (Sunday October 22 2017)

Hearn on AJ v Wilder (Sunday October 22 2017)

Heavyweight Joyce Wins Pro-Debut (Saturday October 21 2017)

Burnett v Zhakiyanov Saturday in Belfast (Thursday October 19 2017)

Saunders to Defend Title against Lemieux (Thursday October 19 2017)

Joshua in no rush to make US Debut (Wednesday October 18 2017)

New Opponent for Anthony Joshua (Tuesday October 17 2017)

Groves Stops Cox in 4 Rounds (Sunday October 15 2017)

DeGale Talks Groves Re-Match (Thursday October 12 2017)

Joshua Lashes Out at his Detractors (Tuesday October 10 2017)

Get Well Soon Gary (Monday October 9 2017)

Benn KO’s Clarke In 1st Round (Sunday October 8 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. Vital Merlin 39
9. hogeyman 31
10. eliza jhon 19

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Did the referee Stop the Joshua v Takem Fight too early?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 38%
No! 62%
Not Sure! 0%