Vital Boxing | Post-Fight Views from Crolla’s Camp
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Post-Fight Views from Crolla’s Camp

Following the comprehensive points defeat he suffered at the hands of the WBA champion, Jorge Linares, Anthony Crolla was the perfect gentlemen.

After being granted a re-match, after being beaten by Crolla in his last fight, the Manchester fighter had these words for his fans, courtesy of his interview with Sky Sports,

'He's a great champion.

'Manchester, I am so sorry I couldn't do it for you. Your support means so much to me. He caught me but before that I thought I could get to him. I got beaten by the better man - no excuses.

'I am 30 years old, I am going to rest, but I believe I can go again.'


Whilst continuing, this time with the good folk of the BBC, Crolla added,

'I could just not pin him down. I was pleading with Joe Gallagher to let me go on for the last round, and you still believe you can land a shot.

'I'm gutted I couldn't do it in front of these fans.'


As for the last round reference, it seems Crolla’s trainer, Joe Callagher, was going to pull his fighter out, with Gallgher remarking to the media,

'I thought we were not going to win this, but Anthony pleaded and said 'let me go on'. He wanted to go out on his shield.

'Linares was very good and everyone could see what a great world champion he is. You have seen one of the best pound for pound fighters in the world.'


Indeed we have.

But we’ll leave the last words to Eddie Hearn, the man who put the whole show together and who had this to say,

'I thought after the first fight Jorge Linares would not perform a career-best performance and he did. He was absolutely brilliant.

'It is so hard when Anthony Crolla comes up to you and says 'I'm so sorry'. You lost on points to one of the best pound for pound fighters.

'We will choose an easier world title. Anthony Crolla will be back 100%, he is an ultimate professional and a credit to himself.'


We await Anthony Crolla’s next move with interest.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday March 27 2017

Time: 12:57PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Whyte Wins on US Debut (Sunday August 20 2017)

Frampton Looking for NEW Opponent (Friday August 18 2017)

Burns v Crolla - October 7th (Saturday August 12 2017)

Smith v Williams Venue Announced (Sunday August 6 2017)

Joshua Being Pushed Into a Corner (Friday August 4 2017)

Klitschko’s Retirement Video (Thursday August 3 2017)

Who Will Be Next for Joshua? (Thursday August 3 2017)

Will You Go PPV for the Big-Fight (Wednesday August 2 2017)

Garcia Outclasses Broner (Sunday July 30 2017)

Taylor Makes it 6 from 6 (Sunday July 30 2017)

Joshua Talks Mike Tyson (Saturday July 29 2017)

Frampton v Gutierrez Called Off (Saturday July 29 2017)

Tyson Fury Retires? (Thursday July 27 2017)

Ricky Burns v Josh Taylor? (Tuesday July 25 2017)

Linares Ordered to Face Campbell (Sunday July 23 2017)

Smith v Williams Re-Match Announced (Saturday July 22 2017)

Will Tyson Fury Fight Again? (Friday July 21 2017)

Flanagan v Verdejo Postponed (Friday July 21 2017)

Martin J Ward Makes History (Sunday July 16 2017)

Davies Jnr Loses to Syrowtka (Sunday July 16 2017)

Selby Beats Barros on Points (Sunday July 16 2017)

Haye Back in the Ring in December (Thursday July 13 2017)

Eubank Snr Courts Controversy (Thursday July 13 2017)

Pacquiao Set to Fight On (Thursday July 13 2017)

Brit Seeds Choose their Opponents (Monday July 10 2017)

More Taylor v Burns Talk (Monday July 10 2017)

Who Is Next for Ricky Burns? (Monday July 10 2017)

Taylor Wants Burns Fight Next (Monday July 10 2017)

Dubois Marches On (Sunday July 9 2017)

Skeete Retains British Title (Sunday July 9 2017)

Taylor Stops Davies in 7 Rounds (Sunday July 9 2017)

Pacquiao Requests WBO Review Fight (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Haye Retire? How Did You Vote? (Sunday July 2 2017)

Conlan Makes it 3 out of 3 (Sunday July 2 2017)

Buglioni Retains British Title (Sunday July 2 2017)

Summertime Brawl Running Order (Saturday July 1 2017)

Iron Mike Turns 51 (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins - Reactions (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins III Is On (Thursday June 29 2017)

Ward Hints at Bellew Fight (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Mayweather v McGregor?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Mayweather all day long! 100%
McGregor to cause an upset! 0%
A dignified draw! 0%