Vital Boxing | Friday Recap – Taylor Stops Joubert
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Friday Recap – Taylor Stops Joubert

On Friday night, as I prepared to jet off in search of eternal happiness, well a weekend away to be more frank, Josh Taylor was set to make a defence of his Commonwealth super-lightweight title.

His opponent on Friday night was somebody with ambitions of his own, the South African Warren Joubert.

The fight was billed as the toughest of Taylor’s career so far, with the Scotsman having had eight fights ahead of this one.

But Taylor showed that he really is a prospect to keep a close eye on by not only beating Joubert but by getting a sixth-round stoppage.

Professional However, Taylor did, in this fight, pick up the first cut of his professional career, although it was unclear as to whether it was from a punch or a clash of heads.

The first round of the bout was somewhat cagey with both boxers feeling each other out, however Taylor upped his work-rate in the second round and a left hook had his opponent reeling.

In the third it was becoming clear that Taylor’s hand-speed was causing Joubert problems. Taylor continued to have the upper hand and the fifth saw Joubert in trouble but the bell came to his rescue.

The sixth saw the end of the fight when Taylor continued to press home his advantage and midway through the round Joubert was on the canvas. Although Joubert got to his feet his corner had seen enough and threw the towel in.

Taylor continues to march on and will soon, in our opinion, move onwards and upwards.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday March 27 2017

Time: 4:59PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Ward Hints at Bellew Fight (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

The Circus Will Take Place (Thursday June 15 2017)

Haye Fined (Thursday June 15 2017)

Frampton Comeback Fight Confirmed (Wednesday June 14 2017)

Burnett Verdict to be changed (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Burnett v Haskins – Quote Fest (Sunday June 11 2017)

A Truly Shocking Verdict (Sunday June 11 2017)

Make Your Mind Up Wladimir (Saturday June 10 2017)

Bellew Set for Conte Bout Next? (Saturday June 10 2017)

Whyte Headed for the US (Saturday June 10 2017)

DeGale Disrespects Groves (Thursday June 8 2017)

Good News for AJ (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Frampton Set for July Comeback (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Tyson's Views on AJ (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Buatsi Turns Professional (Monday June 5 2017)

Crolla Talks Manchester Arena (Sunday June 4 2017)

Should Haye Call It a Day? (Sunday June 4 2017)

Haye Splits from McGuigan (Saturday June 3 2017)

Conor Benn Set for Ring Return (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr v Abraham Draws Nearer (Saturday June 3 2017)

Words of Wisdom from Klitschko (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr Set for Abraham Fight (Thursday June 1 2017)

Bramall Lane Running Order Tonight (Saturday May 27 2017)

Conlan Wins by TKO (Saturday May 27 2017)

Ingle Talks Brook (Thursday May 25 2017)

Fury Left Feeling Frustrated (Thursday May 25 2017)

Porter’s Sour Grapes (Thursday May 25 2017)

Brook Not on the Slide (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Brook Fancies Spence Job (Tuesday May 23 2017)

Whyte Pulls Out of Wach Fight (Wednesday May 17 2017)

Adams Wins in Round Two (Sunday May 14 2017)

Gavin Wins on Points (Sunday May 14 2017)

Wladimir Keeping Everyone Waiting (Saturday May 13 2017)

Tyson Fury Left in Limbo (Saturday May 13 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 130
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Should David Haye Call It a Day?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 50%
No! 50%
Not Sure! 0%