Vital Boxing | Friday Recap – Taylor Stops Joubert
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Friday Recap – Taylor Stops Joubert

On Friday night, as I prepared to jet off in search of eternal happiness, well a weekend away to be more frank, Josh Taylor was set to make a defence of his Commonwealth super-lightweight title.

His opponent on Friday night was somebody with ambitions of his own, the South African Warren Joubert.

The fight was billed as the toughest of Taylor’s career so far, with the Scotsman having had eight fights ahead of this one.

But Taylor showed that he really is a prospect to keep a close eye on by not only beating Joubert but by getting a sixth-round stoppage.

Professional However, Taylor did, in this fight, pick up the first cut of his professional career, although it was unclear as to whether it was from a punch or a clash of heads.

The first round of the bout was somewhat cagey with both boxers feeling each other out, however Taylor upped his work-rate in the second round and a left hook had his opponent reeling.

In the third it was becoming clear that Taylor’s hand-speed was causing Joubert problems. Taylor continued to have the upper hand and the fifth saw Joubert in trouble but the bell came to his rescue.

The sixth saw the end of the fight when Taylor continued to press home his advantage and midway through the round Joubert was on the canvas. Although Joubert got to his feet his corner had seen enough and threw the towel in.

Taylor continues to march on and will soon, in our opinion, move onwards and upwards.

The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday March 27 2017

Time: 4:59PM


Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Whyte Dismisses Threat Browne Presents (Wednesday March 21 2018)

Fury Dictating His Comeback Terms (Wednesday March 21 2018)

Flanagan Looking for New Fight Date (Tuesday March 20 2018)

Joyce KO’s Palmer in Round One (Sunday March 18 2018)

Joshua Yearns for Wilder Showdown (Wednesday March 14 2018)

Roach Tips Joshua to Beat Wilder (Tuesday March 13 2018)

Garcia Joins and Elite Group (Sunday March 11 2018)

DeGale Gets Truax Re-Match (Sunday March 11 2018)

Quigg Beaten on Points by Valdez (Sunday March 11 2018)

Tyson Fury Continues to Tease (Wednesday March 7 2018)

Brook v Khan Moves a Step Closer (Sunday March 4 2018)

Brook Stops Rabchenko in 2 Rounds (Sunday March 4 2018)

Brook v Rabchenko – Full Card (Saturday March 3 2018)

Wilder Goads Joshua and Hearn (Friday March 2 2018)

Taylor Now Faces Campos Not Soto (Friday March 2 2018)

RIP – Scott Westgarth (Monday February 26 2018)

Callum Smith Reaches WBSS Final (Monday February 26 2018)

Smith to Set Fast Pace v Braehmer (Tuesday February 20 2018)

Joshua Tells It As It Is (Monday February 19 2018)

Brook Looking Forward to Comeback Fight (Monday February 19 2018)

Groves Place in WBSS Final in Doubt (Sunday February 18 2018)

Groves On Beating Eubank Jnr (Sunday February 18 2018)

Eubank Jnr Reflects on Loss to Groves (Sunday February 18 2018)

Groves Beats Eubank Jnr On Points (Sunday February 18 2018)

Groves v Eubank Jnr – The Under-Card (Saturday February 17 2018)

Joyce Moves Closer to Chisora Fight (Saturday February 17 2018)

You Predict a Win for Eubank Jnr v Groves (Saturday February 17 2018)

Hughie Fury to Fight for British Title (Saturday February 17 2018)

An Evening with a Boxing Legend (Friday February 16 2018)

Froch Tips Eubank Jnr to Beat Groves (Wednesday February 14 2018)

Groves v Eubank Jnr Press Conference (Wednesday February 14 2018)

Burnett Added to AJ v Parker Promotion (Tuesday February 13 2018)

Does Joshua Need to Fight in the US? (Saturday February 10 2018)

Groves Responds to Eubank Snr’s Jibe (Saturday February 10 2018)

Frampton, McGuigan Split Gets Even Messier (Saturday February 10 2018)

Jones Ends Illustrious Career with a Win (Saturday February 10 2018)

Gassiev Reaches WBSS Final (Sunday February 4 2018)

Buatsi Makes it Four Wins Out of Four (Sunday February 4 2018)

Okolie Beats Chamberlain on Points (Sunday February 4 2018)

Golovkin v Alvarez Re-Match Date Set (Tuesday January 30 2018)

Usyk Beats Briedis in WBSS Semi-Final (Sunday January 28 2018)

Selby v Warrington Fight Confirmed (Wednesday January 24 2018)

Flanagan Bidding to make History (Saturday January 20 2018)

Saunders to Defend Title against Murray (Saturday January 20 2018)

Taylor Set for Soto Bout in Glasgow (Friday January 19 2018)

Price to Face Povetkin in Cardiff (Thursday January 18 2018)

Wilder v Ortiz Set for 3 March (Saturday January 13 2018)

Smith v Brahmer Set for Germany (Saturday January 13 2018)

Taylor to Defend Her Title in Dublin (Saturday January 13 2018)

Bad Boy Wilder Found Guilty (Saturday January 13 2018)

Khan Set for UK Ring Return (Saturday January 13 2018)

Quigg World Title Fight A Done Deal (Tuesday January 9 2018)

Date for Frampton v Donaire Fixed (Saturday January 6 2018)

Quigg Set for World Title Fight (Wednesday January 3 2018)

Joshua v Parker Moves a BIG Step Nearer (Friday December 29 2017)

Whyte v Browne March 24? (Friday December 22 2017)

Frampton v Donaire Confirmed (Friday December 22 2017)

Saunders Retains WBO Middleweight Title (Sunday December 17 2017)

Benn Wins on Points against Peynaud (Thursday December 14 2017)

Tyson Fury Talking about AJ Fight (Wednesday December 13 2017)

Brook Back in Action in March 2018 (Monday December 11 2017)

DeGale Loses World Title to Truax (Sunday December 10 2017)

Haye v Bellew II – 5 May 2018 Confirmed (Wednesday December 6 2017)

DeGale Tips Groves to Beat Eubank Jnr (Sunday December 3 2017)

Price Gets Back to Winning Ways (Sunday December 3 2017)

Ortiz Escapes WBC Ban (Sunday December 3 2017)

Cotto's Career End in Defeat (Sunday December 3 2017)

Hearn Rejects 65-35 Purse Split Offer (Thursday November 23 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. Vital Merlin 43
9. hogeyman 31
10. eliza jhon 19

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Anthony Joshua v Joseph Parker?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Joshua to Win! 65%
Parker to Win! 28%
A Draw 7%