Vital Boxing | Burns Beaten by Indongo in Unification Fight
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Burns Beaten by Indongo in Unification Fight

In Glasgow last night, Scotland’s Ricky Burns had high hopes of leaving the ring with the WBA, IBF and IBO world super-lightweight belts around his waist.

However, his dream was to be shattered by a very good champion from Namibia, Julius Indongo.

Indongo, 34-years-of-age, the same as Burns, produced a slick, polished display that saw Burns comprehensively beaten.

When the bell sounded for the end of the 12th round, at the Hydro Arena in Glasgow, Burns knew that he had been beaten and that his chances of a further unification fight, this time with Terence Crawford in Las Vegas, had gone.

Perhaps the only surprise of the night was the disparity in the scorecards with many believing that Indongo had won every round, with the scores being announced as:

• 120 – 108 (in favour of Indongo)
• 118 – 110 (in favour of Indongo)
• 116 – 112 (in favour of Indongo)

That last score was an injustice to the boxer from Namibia.

Indongo started the fight better and looked to be the bigger super-lightweight. His long reach and punches being thrown from unusual angles trouble Burns who looked to be struggling to get into the fight.

Burns briefly rallied in middle rounds but never, in my opinion, did enough to take the rounds, Indongo was also pushing the Scot back and as the fight wore on Burns looked to be on the verge of being stopped.

However, Burns inner strength saw him hang on in there and once the verdict had been announced an honest Burns remarked to the media,

'The better man won on the night, no excuses.”

It remains to be seen what the next step is that Burns will take in his career following this defeat but for Indongo the future looks very bright and that clash Burns was hoping for with Terence Crawford could be Indongo’s for the taking.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday April 16 2017

Time: 8:50AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Ward Hints at Bellew Fight (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

The Circus Will Take Place (Thursday June 15 2017)

Haye Fined (Thursday June 15 2017)

Frampton Comeback Fight Confirmed (Wednesday June 14 2017)

Burnett Verdict to be changed (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Burnett v Haskins – Quote Fest (Sunday June 11 2017)

A Truly Shocking Verdict (Sunday June 11 2017)

Make Your Mind Up Wladimir (Saturday June 10 2017)

Bellew Set for Conte Bout Next? (Saturday June 10 2017)

Whyte Headed for the US (Saturday June 10 2017)

DeGale Disrespects Groves (Thursday June 8 2017)

Good News for AJ (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Frampton Set for July Comeback (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Tyson's Views on AJ (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Buatsi Turns Professional (Monday June 5 2017)

Crolla Talks Manchester Arena (Sunday June 4 2017)

Should Haye Call It a Day? (Sunday June 4 2017)

Haye Splits from McGuigan (Saturday June 3 2017)

Conor Benn Set for Ring Return (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr v Abraham Draws Nearer (Saturday June 3 2017)

Words of Wisdom from Klitschko (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr Set for Abraham Fight (Thursday June 1 2017)

Bramall Lane Running Order Tonight (Saturday May 27 2017)

Conlan Wins by TKO (Saturday May 27 2017)

Ingle Talks Brook (Thursday May 25 2017)

Fury Left Feeling Frustrated (Thursday May 25 2017)

Porter’s Sour Grapes (Thursday May 25 2017)

Brook Not on the Slide (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Brook Fancies Spence Job (Tuesday May 23 2017)

Whyte Pulls Out of Wach Fight (Wednesday May 17 2017)

Adams Wins in Round Two (Sunday May 14 2017)

Gavin Wins on Points (Sunday May 14 2017)

Wladimir Keeping Everyone Waiting (Saturday May 13 2017)

Tyson Fury Left in Limbo (Saturday May 13 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 130
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Should David Haye Call It a Day?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 50%
No! 50%
Not Sure! 0%