Vital Boxing | Khan Set for UK Ring Return
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Khan Set for UK Ring Return

After an absence of nearly two-years from the ring, Amir Khan is set to resume his boxing career,

Furthermore, the former light-welterweight world champion will be making his ring return in the UK with a fight at the Liverpool Echo Arena, in the first of three fights that will be promoted by Eddie Hearn.

Khan last fought in May 2016 when he challenged Saul Alvarez for the Mexican’s WBC middleweight title, losing in the sixth-round courtesy of a knockout.

His career record, as a professional, reads 31 wins from 35 professional fights.

Talking about his return to the ring, Khan is quoted as having remarked,

'I'm really excited for the next couple of years. I'm feeling fit and strong and I can't wait to get back in the ring.'

However, the big surprise is that Khan has signed up with Eddie Hearn, even more so when Khan previously remarked about Hearn when a fight with Kell Brook was being discussed,

'The only way I would take that Brook fight is if he left Eddie Hearn. I just don't like Eddie Hearn.'

But it seems the duo are happy to work together with Hearn remarking about hooking up with Khan,

'The target is to provide him with the biggest fights possible with a mouth-watering list of names including the likes of Manny Pacquiao, Kell Brook, Keith Thurman and Errol Spence.

'I'm excited to get started and looking forward to a huge night of boxing on 21 April.'


As to who Khan will be fighting at the Liverpool Echo Arena, on 21 April, we’ll find that out next week when his opponent is announced.

Welcome back Amir.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Saturday January 13 2018

Time: 11:37AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Smith to Set Fast Pace v Braehmer (Tuesday February 20 2018)

Joshua Tells It As It Is (Monday February 19 2018)

Brook Looking Forward to Comeback Fight (Monday February 19 2018)

Groves Place in WBSS Final in Doubt (Sunday February 18 2018)

Groves On Beating Eubank Jnr (Sunday February 18 2018)

Eubank Jnr Reflects on Loss to Groves (Sunday February 18 2018)

Groves Beats Eubank Jnr On Points (Sunday February 18 2018)

Groves v Eubank Jnr – The Under-Card (Saturday February 17 2018)

Joyce Moves Closer to Chisora Fight (Saturday February 17 2018)

You Predict a Win for Eubank Jnr v Groves (Saturday February 17 2018)

Hughie Fury to Fight for British Title (Saturday February 17 2018)

An Evening with a Boxing Legend (Friday February 16 2018)

Froch Tips Eubank Jnr to Beat Groves (Wednesday February 14 2018)

Groves v Eubank Jnr Press Conference (Wednesday February 14 2018)

Burnett Added to AJ v Parker Promotion (Tuesday February 13 2018)

Does Joshua Need to Fight in the US? (Saturday February 10 2018)

Groves Responds to Eubank Snr’s Jibe (Saturday February 10 2018)

Frampton, McGuigan Split Gets Even Messier (Saturday February 10 2018)

Jones Ends Illustrious Career with a Win (Saturday February 10 2018)

Gassiev Reaches WBSS Final (Sunday February 4 2018)

Buatsi Makes it Four Wins Out of Four (Sunday February 4 2018)

Okolie Beats Chamberlain on Points (Sunday February 4 2018)

Golovkin v Alvarez Re-Match Date Set (Tuesday January 30 2018)

Usyk Beats Briedis in WBSS Semi-Final (Sunday January 28 2018)

Selby v Warrington Fight Confirmed (Wednesday January 24 2018)

Flanagan Bidding to make History (Saturday January 20 2018)

Saunders to Defend Title against Murray (Saturday January 20 2018)

Taylor Set for Soto Bout in Glasgow (Friday January 19 2018)

Price to Face Povetkin in Cardiff (Thursday January 18 2018)

Wilder v Ortiz Set for 3 March (Saturday January 13 2018)

Smith v Brahmer Set for Germany (Saturday January 13 2018)

Taylor to Defend Her Title in Dublin (Saturday January 13 2018)

Bad Boy Wilder Found Guilty (Saturday January 13 2018)

Quigg World Title Fight A Done Deal (Tuesday January 9 2018)

Date for Frampton v Donaire Fixed (Saturday January 6 2018)

Quigg Set for World Title Fight (Wednesday January 3 2018)

Joshua v Parker Moves a BIG Step Nearer (Friday December 29 2017)

Whyte v Browne March 24? (Friday December 22 2017)

Frampton v Donaire Confirmed (Friday December 22 2017)

Saunders Retains WBO Middleweight Title (Sunday December 17 2017)

Benn Wins on Points against Peynaud (Thursday December 14 2017)

Tyson Fury Talking about AJ Fight (Wednesday December 13 2017)

Brook Back in Action in March 2018 (Monday December 11 2017)

DeGale Loses World Title to Truax (Sunday December 10 2017)

Haye v Bellew II – 5 May 2018 Confirmed (Wednesday December 6 2017)

DeGale Tips Groves to Beat Eubank Jnr (Sunday December 3 2017)

Price Gets Back to Winning Ways (Sunday December 3 2017)

Ortiz Escapes WBC Ban (Sunday December 3 2017)

Cotto's Career End in Defeat (Sunday December 3 2017)

Hearn Rejects 65-35 Purse Split Offer (Thursday November 23 2017)

Haye v Bellew Re-Match – Postponed (Tuesday November 21 2017)

Conlan World Title Bid Ends in Defeat (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton Beats Garcia on Points (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton’s Illustrious Ringside Company (Thursday November 16 2017)

DeGale and Selby Opponents Named (Wednesday November 15 2017)

Benn Makes Successful Debut on US Soil (Tuesday November 14 2017)

Taylor KO's Vazquez in 9 Rounds (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith Beats Williams on Points (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith v Williams - The Re-Match (Friday November 10 2017)

2018 Will See Joshua v Wilder (Friday November 10 2017)

Wilder Would Travel to the UK to Face AJ (Thursday November 9 2017)

McDonnell v Solis Fight Report (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder Calls Out Anthony Joshua (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder v Stiverne Weigh-In (Saturday November 4 2017)

Disappointment for Dillian Whyte? (Friday November 3 2017)

Tyson Fury v Shannon Briggs? (Friday November 3 2017)

Chisora looking for World Title Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. Vital Merlin 42
9. hogeyman 31
10. eliza jhon 19

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Anthony Joshua v Joseph Parker?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Joshua to Win! 75%
Parker to Win! 25%
A Draw 0%